Football Betting: 6 Tournaments That Bettors Can Participate In  

Football Betting

If you’re a bettor who aims to take a chance in wagering in sports, then you should look into football. Football is one of the most famous sports in the world, and they have a wide selection of tournaments that live up to their popularity. It ranges from several arrays of domestic leagues popular globally to huge international cup tournaments. 

Now, if you’re trying to figure out what football tournaments would be the best event to bet on, here are six championships you can look into.

FIFA World Cup 

On top of this list is the FIFA World Cup. Last year, fans worldwide came together to witness this huge event in Qatar. The FIFA World Cup is a tournament arranged by the Federation Internationale de Football Association (FIFA), the global governing body. 

It’s an international association football tournament where members of FIFA play against each other. The winner, in the end, will then be proclaimed the best team in the association, bringing home their trophy and the title.

Furthermore, this huge event takes place every four years, and if you plan to participate in football betting, it should be enough time to prepare and look into all the participating teams.

UEFA Champions League 

If you prefer to bet regularly, then the UEFA Champions League might suit you better. The UEFA Champions League (UCL or UEFA CL) is among the most prestigious football tournaments. However, unlike the World Cup, the UCL is organized annually by the Union of European Football Association (UEFA). 

The teams participating in this tournament are the top European clubs to bring home the European Champion Clubs’ Cup. The winners will qualify for the Champions League the following year, the UEFA Super Cup, and the FIFA World Cup.

Copa America

Copa America is one of the oldest international football tournaments and the longest-running intercontinental championship present. Copa America is governed by the Confederacion Sudamericana de Fútbol (CONMEBOL), an organization and governance of South America. There have been changes in the tournament’s schedule since 2001, and at present, Copa America is now a quadrennial event for men’s football. 

The participating teams are members of the CONMEBOL club, consisting of 10 national teams: Uruguay, Venezuela, Argentina, Brazil, Bolivia, Chile, Colombia, Peru, Paraguay, and Ecuador. However, due to the tournament’s current format, countries from other continents will be invited to participate in making up for the necessary 12 teams. 

The next Copa America will start in 2024 and will be the 48th edition of the tournament, with Argentina as the defending champions.

Copa Libertadores 

Copa Libertadores (Copa Libertadores de America) is another international annual club football competition in this list. This year, the 2023 Copa Libertadores will hold the 64th edition organized by CONMEBOL. It’s regarded as the highest championship level in South American club football. 

This tournament is said to be comparable to the UEFA Champions League and is, in fact, second behind the UCL as the world’s most prestigious club football competition. The tournament will have 47 clubs facing each other for six to eight months to bring home the la Copa trophy. Then, the winners will be eligible to participate in Recopa Sudamericana and FIFA Club World Club.

AFC Asian Cup

The AFC Asian Cup is a tournament arranged by the Asian Football Confederation (AFC), which is the governing body of association football, futsal, and beach football in Asia and Oceania. It’s also among the most popular championships globally, and many football fans follow this tournament. It’s also only the second-oldest continental football championship after Copa America.

Moreover, this Asian Cup tournament only takes place every four years. It was only in 2007 that it was held after three years. The next AFC Asian Cup will be held from mid-2023 to early 2024 and will be held in Qatar, which just recently hosted the prestigious FIFA World Cup.

FIFA Club World Cup

Although similar in name, the FIFA Club World Cup shouldn’t be mistaken for the most popular FIFA World Cup. The FIFA Club World Cup features club soccer teams instead of national teams. 

This year, the FIFA Club World Cup 2023 will start from February 1 to February 11 in Morocco, where seven teams will compete for the title. The latest winners of the AFC Champions League, CAF Champions League, CONMEBOL Libertadores, OFC Champions League, CONCACAF Champions League, and UEFA Champions League will face off in a knock-out tournament. 

Final Thoughts

There’s never a dull moment in the football world. Whether you’re an international fan and love FIFA or more of a club fan and support UEFA, there’s no shortage of football fun. So, fans and bettors alike can look forward to how each year will unfold for them. If you’re still feeling conflicted about what tournaments you can participate in, then you can continue to ponder the events listed above carefully.